Share this post

KBoneBaylor All-American senior post Brittney Griner, who closed out the regular-season with a 50-point performance against Kansas State, has been named the 2012-13 Big 12 Player of the Year.

Griner becomes the second player to be named Big 12 Player of the Year three times and the first to garner Defensive Player of the Year all four seasons in her career. Former Oklahoma player Courtney Paris also earned three player of the year accolades from 2007-2009.

Griner, who is one of just six players in NCAA history to surpass 3,000 career points and 1, 000 career rebounds, set the Big 12 single game scoring record with 50 points in her regular season finale. She leads the Big 12 in scoring (23.3), blocks (4.1) and field goal percentage (.599) while ranking seventh in rebounds (8.9). She is the Big 12’s career leader in scoring (3,123) and blocks (721) and holds national records for blocks and dunks (14).

Griner and junior guard Odyssey Sims were both unanimous selections to the league’s All-Defensive team and First-Team All-Big 12. Senior Destiny Williams captured the Sixth Man Award, while freshman Alexis Prince was named to the All-Freshman team. Kimetria Hayden, Jordan Madden and Brooklyn Pope earned All-Big 12 honorable mention status.

Baylor head coach Kim Mulkey earned her fourth Big 12 Coach of the Year honor. Mulkey, who is in her 13th season at Baylor, led the program to its fourth Big 12 regular season title with a 29-1 overall record and an 18-0 league mark. This is the second consecutive season the Lady Bears have gone undefeated in Big 12 play and they are 51-1 over the past three years.

The Lady Bears have also won 69 of its last 70 overall games and is 103-4 since 2010-11. The Lady Bears are ranked No. 1 in the national polls and will enter the Phillips 66 Big 12 Women’s Basketball Championship as the No. 1 seed.

Here is a look at the 2012-13 PHILLIPS 66 ALL-BIG 12 AWARDS:

Coach of the Year: Kim Mulkey, Baylor

Player of the Year: Brittney Griner, Baylor

Co-Newcomers of the Year: Portia Durrett-Oklahoma and Jackie Patterson-Texas Tech

Freshman of the Year: Imani McGee-Stafford-Texas

Defensive Player of the Year: Brittney Griner-Baylor

Sixth Man Award: Destiny Williams-Baylor

Scholar Athlete of the Year: Brittany Chambers-Kansas State

All-Big 12 First Team

Brittney Griner                                              Senior                   Post                       Baylor

Odyssey Sims                                 Junior                    Guard                   Baylor

Hallie Christofferson                   Junior                    For.                        Iowa State

Chelsea Poppens                          Senior                   For.                        Iowa State

Angel Goodrich                                             Senior                   Guard                   Kansas

Brittany Chambers                       Senior                   Guard                   Kansas State

Aaryn Ellenberg                             Junior                    Guard                   Oklahoma

Toni Young                                      Senior                   For.                        Oklahoma State

Chynna Brown                                               Senior                   Guard                   Texas Tech

Christal Caldwell                            Junior                    Guard                   West Virginia

Share this post


Untitled document


Untitled document


Untitled document



Untitled document


Subscribe to the Forward Times

Untitled document



Untitled document

Latest comments