Share this post

CynthiaTexas Southern men’s basketball coach Mike Davis has been chosen as one of twenty finalists for the 2013 Ben Jobe Award.

The Ben Jobe Award is presented annually to the top minority coach in Division I men’s basketball. Coach Jobe is an icon in the history of basketball at Historically Black Colleges and Universities. He is best known as the head coach of the Southern University Jaguars, a position that he held for 12 seasons. He also was a head coach at Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Talladega, Tuskegee and South Carolina State.

His record at Southern was 209-141 and included four NCAA Tournament appearances. He also coached the Jaguars to one NIT appearance, five SIAC championships, 11 SWAC titles and two NAIA Tournament Championships. One of his most memorable moments as a coach was Southern’s 93-79 win over Georgia Tech in the first round of the 1993 NCAA Tournament. It still stands as one of the great upsets in the history of the event.

The 20 finalists joining coach Mike Davis of Texas Southern University are: Tommy Amaker-Harvard, Mike Anderson-Arkansas, Kevin Baggett-Rider, Roman Banks-Southern, Jamion Christian-Mount St. Mary’s, Anthony Evans-Norfolk State, Anthony Grant-Alabama, James Green-Jacksonville State, Frank Haith-Missouri, Joe Jones-Boston University, Cuonzo Martin-Tennessee, Bashir Mason-Wagner, Ray McCallum-Detroit, Marvin Menzies-New Mexico State, Howard Moore-Illinois-Chicago, LeVelle Moton-North Carolina Central, Kevin Ollie-Connecticut, Shaka Smart-VCU, and John Thompson III-Georgetown.

“Selecting a winner from this group will be difficult,” stated co-founder Angela Lento. “So many coaches did exceptional things this season. Any of the 20 finalists would be deserving.”

The 2013 recipient will be announced at the awards banquet in Atlanta, Georgia, the site of the men’s NCAA Basketball Championship.

Local Men’s College Basketball News:

*Stephen F. Austin senior Taylor Smith has been named the 2012-13 Southland Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Year. He also was selected as the SLC Defensive Player of the Year.

Smith paced the Lumberjacks to their first Southland regular-season conference championship since it won back-to-back titles in 2008 and 2009. The forward from Schertz, Texas is the NCAA Division I leader with a field-goal percentage of 69.6 and ranks second in the conference in rebounding (9.0) and fifth in scoring (15.6).

*SFA head coach Danny Kaspar was named the Southland Conference Coach of the Year. He picked up the Coach of the Year honors for the second time in his 13 seasons after leading the Lumberjacks to their third Southland crown and first since winning titles in consecutive seasons in 2008 and 2009. SFA brought a 26-3 record into the 50th anniversary of the Southland Conference. SFA became the first Southland team in its 50-year history to win 26 games before the conference tournament, surpassing the previous record of 25 wins set by Louisiana Tech in 1985-86.

*University of Houston forward Danuel House was named the Conference USA Freshman of the Year.

House, who also earned a place on the league’s five-man All-Freshman Team, was one of two Cougars to receive specialty awards. Sophomore TaShawn Thomas was named to the C-USA All-Defensive Team.

House entered his first collegiate season as a highly recruited prep star and has more than lived up to those expectations. The Hightower Hurricanes product ranks third on the team with 12.4 points per game and stands among the C-USA freshman leaders in scoring, rebounding, field goal percentage, free throw percentage, assists and steals.

*Houston’s Joseph Young was named to the C-USA Third Team. Young has been a consistent offensive force for Houston as a redshirt sophomore. After posting a career-high 32 points and converting an old-fashioned three-point play with just two seconds remaining in Houston’s 96-94 win at Tulane, he reclaimed the C-USA individual scoring lead and paces C-USA and the3 Cougars with 18.554 points per game.

*The United States Basketball Writers Association selected several members on it’s regional All-District Team. The District VII region, which includes the states of Texas, Arkansas, and Louisiana) selected the following players/coaches for the 2012-13 season.

Player of the Year: Pierre Jackson-Baylor Bears

Coach of the Year: Michael White-Louisiana Tech Techsters

All-District Team:

TaShawn Taylor-Houston Cougars

Joseph Young-Houston Cougars

Isaiah Austin-Baylor Bears

Fred Hunter-Nicholls State

Pierre Jackson-Baylor Bears

Johnny O’Bryant III-LSU Tigers

Marshawn Powell-Arkansas Razorbacks

Taylor Smith-Stephen F. Austin State Lumberjacks

Elston Turner-Texas A&M Aggies

B.J. Young-Arkansas Razorbacks

Share this post


Untitled document


Untitled document


Untitled document



Untitled document


Subscribe to the Forward Times

Untitled document



Untitled document

Latest comments