Share this post

Charles_Dupre_-_Fort_BendThe award winning internationally acclaimed Texas Southern University Debate Team continued its winning streak, with the victory achieved at the   24th. Annual International Forensic Association Tournament, held in Antwerp, Belgium, recently.

The team captured the 2013 International Championship, in Lincoln Douglas Debate, defeating   Casper College, in the Final Round. The topic debated was, “Resolved: That the United States Federal Government should substantially increase assistance for organic and/or sustainable agriculture.” On the way to the finals, the team took the negative position, in three cases, while affirming the proposition, in the Finals.

The team was one of eighteen schools, from across the nation, from Wyoming to Connecticut, in competition. TSU was the only HBCU School in attendance, at the tournament.

In addition to winning the championship in Lincoln Douglas Debate, the team also received the Runner Up Championship Award, in Individual Forensic Events. The events for which the team received citations included: Poetry Interpretation, Dramatic Interpretation, Duo Dramatic Interpretation, and Impromptu Speaking.

Second Place in Lincoln Douglas Debate was won by Casper College, Casper, Wyoming.

First Place in Individual Forensic Events was won by George Mason, Washington, D.C., and third place by Pacific University, Forest Grove, Oregon.

The following students constituted the participating team:

FRESHMEN: Brianna Williams. Maurice Robinson, Jekale Williams, Reese Selman.

SOPHOMORES: Onyeka Onyekwelu, Tiffany Massey, Marshaun Williams

JUNIORS: Adriana Boyd-Lewis, Marcus Esther, Tameike Washington

SENIORS: Nicholas Tinson, Donte Newman, Tsalte Baptiste, Jordon Williams. Leticia Cortez, Nathaniel Harris, Camellia Parham.

The major areas of study of these members of the team cover fourteen different disciplines, including:

Maritime Transportation, Business Marketing, Business Management, Entertainment Management, Marketing, Spanish, Theater Arts, Public Affairs, Biology, Pharmacy, Chemistry, Finance, Communication, Political Science and Psychology

Sixty Seven teachers, cutting across the University, have these students enrolled in one or more of their classes.

Among the career goals of team members, the following are listed:

Policy Writer, Distinguished Actor –Teacher, Entertainment Business Manage, Pharmacist, Distinguished Jurist, International Foreign Service Specialist, Chemical Engineer, Neurologist, Psychologist, Psychotherapist, Motivational Speaker, Lawyer, Military Translator, Psychiatrist, Physician                                                                                                                      

Eleven of these team members have honor roll status, ranging from 3.06- 3.93, six of them Scholars in the Thomas F. Freeman Honors College.
The total number of debate team members with honor roll status is twenty four, ranging from 3.06- 4.00.

The team was accompanied by the following assistant coaches:

Dr. Gloria Batiste-Roberts, Wendell King, Branden Griffin, Brya Grice, Monique Bryan, Sondera Malry, Shirley Lee, Linda Coach-Riley, and the head coach for the past 63 years, Dr. Thomas F. Freeman, Distinguished Professor of Forensics.

The debate team is open to any undergraduate student enrolled in the University and may be joined at any time during the course of the semester...There are no other prerequisites.... previous speaking experience is not necessary. Students are guided to work at their own individual pace.

Interested students are encouraged to consult the Coach, in Ed. Room 112, in the Center For Forensic Excellence, and to attend the regular debate team meetings, each Wednesday   at 7 p.m. and the regular workshops, every Saturday, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Share this post


Untitled document


Untitled document


Untitled document



Untitled document


Subscribe to the Forward Times

Untitled document



Untitled document

Latest comments