Share this post

Election ResultsThe results of the 2011 election are in and the Houston Forward Times is here to give you the results of the key races that everyone was watching. Although the overall voter turnout was low again, there were some extremely close races that were too close to predict prior to election day. Those races are:


In a surprisingly low vote total than anyone expected, Mayor Annise Parker managed to fend off five challengers and a runoff, to win reelection with 51% of the vote for a second term as Houston City Mayor. With those relatively low vote totals for an incumbent Mayor, the potential challengers for a 2013 campaign will more than likely announce their candidacy early.

Three of the closest races of the evening were in the District B Houston City Council race, the At-Large Position 2 City Council race and the At-Large Position 5 City Council race.


In the District B race, Alvin Byrd and Jerry Davis will battle for the position in a runoff election. Byrd received 25% of the vote to Davis’ 24%. Challenger Kathy Bleuford-Daniels received 18% of the vote. This race had eight challengers for this open position, which is being vacated by outgoing Councilman Jarvis Johnson who is term-limited.


In the At-Large Position 2 race, veteran candidate Andrew C. Burks, Jr. will face former State rep. Kristi Thibaut, in a runoff election. Burks received 17% of the vote to 16% for Thibaut. Elizabeth Perez received 14% of the vote in this race that had ten challengers for this open position, which is being vacated by outgoing Councilwoman Sue Lovell, who is term-limited.


In the At-Large Position 5 race, incumbent Councilwoman Jolanda Jones faced three challengers, drawing a black opponent as well. Jones was unable to avoid a runoff election to keep her seat for a third term. She will be facing her 2009 runoff election opponent Jack Christie, whom she pulled out a close victory over in 2009.


Another challenging race was for Houston Community College System Trustee for District IV where two former three term Houston City Council members, Jew Don Boney and Carroll G. Robinson, faced off. In the end, Robinson pulled off the victory over to replace outgoing Trustee Dr. Michael P. Williams.


In the newly created district K, Larry Green won, receiving 65% of the vote.


Here are the outcomes of the other races:


  • Houston ISD Board President Paula Harris wins reelection as Houston ISD District IV Trustee over opponent Davetta Daniels
  • Councilwoman Wanda Adams handily wins reelection for a third term in the District D Houston City Council race 
  • Councilman C.O. Bradford wins reelection for a second term in the At-Large Position 4 Houston City Council race
  • Chris Oliver wins reelection as Houston Community College District IX Trustee 
  • Ann Williams wins her bid as Alief ISD Position 3 Trustee
  • Ronald C. Green is reelected for a second term, after running unopposed as Houston City Controller


All State amendment propositions passed with the exception of Proposition 4 and Proposition 8, which were centered around taxes, a hot button issue amongst the Tea Party. Proposition 7, which was also tax related, barely passed by only 155 votes.


Voting matters, so be sure to vote again in December for the runoff election.


Share this post

Add comment


Untitled document


Untitled document


Untitled document



Untitled document


Subscribe to the Forward Times

Untitled document



Untitled document

Latest comments