v31_Paterno(Via Chicago Tribune) – On Monday the NCAA hit Penn State with a $60 million fine, banned the football team from bowl games for four years and vacated all of its wins from 1998 to 2011 in the wake of the university’s child sex abuse scandal.

At a morning news conference, NCAA president Mark Emmert said Penn State will lose 10 football scholarships initially and gradually be reduced by another 10, dropping their total to 65 for the 2013-14 school year.

All of Penn State’s victories from 1998 through 2011 will be vacated. Coach Joe Paterno’s record will reflect the vacated victories, meaning he no longer will be recognized as the NCAA’s all-time winningest coach.

The $60 million in fines will go toward a fund for victims of child abuse. Penn State also will be placed on probation for five years.The Big Ten has scheduled a teleconference for 10 a.m. CT to announce conference sanctions.

v30_espyThe Baylor Bears duo of Brittney Griner and Robert Griffin III joined Miami Heat superstar Lebron James in winning the top honors at the 20th Annual ESPY Awards held in Los Angeles, California.

Griner, earned both the Female Athlete of the Year and Female College Athlete of the Year honors. The 6-8 post, led the Lady Bears to the 2012 NCAA National Championship, with an unprecedented 40-0 record, was the consensus national player of the year and also won the coveted Honda Cup.

She was joined by members of the Lady Bears women’s basketball team and their head coach Kim Mulkey. The Lady Bears were a nominee for Best Team but the Miami Heat won the ESPY.

Griner, a Houston native, joins Candace Parker (2008), Taryne Mowatt (2007), Diana Taurasi (2004), Chamique Holdsclaw (1999), and Rebecca Lobo (1996) in claiming double honors. Parker , Taurasi, Holdsclaw and Lobo all played basketball, while Mowatt played softball at Arizona. Holdsclaw and Lobo were named Best Female College Basketball Player of the Year, as there wasn’t a Female College Athlete of the Year category at that time.

v30_stewartThe Touchdown Club of Houston will host the Inaugural Private High School Awards Dinner on Wednesday, August 1st at 7:00 p.m. at the JW Marriott hotel , located at 5150 Westheimer in the Galleria.

A group of 42 Greater Houston area private school kids have been selected by a committee of private school coaches. All honorees are seniors.

The offensive honorees are: Offensive Linemen: David Abbott-Second Baptist, Walt Baker-St. John’s, Marshall Henry-Episcopal, Josh Keith-Faith West, Alex Snyder-St. Thomas, Robert Stasney-Pope John XXIII, and Jayson Worthy-Rosehill Christian; Quarterbacks: Austin Robinson-Episcopal, Alex Roys-Houston Christian, Gabe Simon-Westbury Christian, Kohl Stewart-St. Pius, Dylan Stockberger-Pope John XXIII; Running Backs: Nathan Avery-St. John’s, Carter Odenweller-Northland Christian, Justin Webster-Northland Christian; Wide Receivers: James Bento-Woodlands Christian, Stephen Consoli-Houston Christian, Patrick Fertitta-Episcopal, Damitri Morris-St. Pius, Brandon Slater-Lutheran North, Macan Wilson-Kinkaid; and Tight End: Jack Thomas-Fort Bend Christian.

v30_mooreIt has been an incredible 12 months or so for former UConn and current Minnesota Lynx point guard Maya Moore.

As a rookie in the WNBA she helped lead the Minnesota Lynx to their first WNBA title last fall and followed it up with Euroleague and Spanish League Championships this winter as part of Ros Casares.

Now, as the Olympic athletes and their families arrived in London, England this week, she hopes to cap her amazing run with an Olympic gold medal. Winning it all in London will make Moore part of an elite club. She would be just the seventh player to win titles in college, the WNBA, the FIBA world championship and the Olympics.

Moore has been a winner both on and off the basketball court her entire life. Not only was she a great basketball player at UConn, but she was also a great student-athlete. Since entering high school, she has a 326-16 mark. That doesn’t even include her perfect 22-0 record while playing for USA basketball.

v30_grahamCollege Baseball Hall of Famer and Rice Owls head baseball coach Wayne Graham has signed a five-year contract extension.

Graham, 76, who just completed his 21st season as the leader of one of the nation’s most consistent programs, had an additional five years added to his current contract which has one year remaining. The extension gives him the opportunity to continue to build on his remarkable legacy for the next six years. The Owls just completed competing in their 18th consecutive NCAA Baseball Championship, the fourth longest active streak among Division 1 programs.

“Wayne Graham is the model for what every program in the country hopes to find when searching for a head coach,” Rice Director of Athletics Rick Greenspan said. “He is passionate about the game, but equally passionate about the mission of collegiate athletics. He sets high expectations for every young man who comes to Rice, both on the field and in the classroom. The men who have accepted that challenge honor him every day, be it in baseball or in the business world. He is an essential part of the mission of Rice Athletics.”

Texas A&M Aggies:

*Aggies freshman quarterback Johnny Manziel, 19 is still facing charges after being involved in a fight.

Manziel was arrested by College Station police in the Northgate bar district on charges of fighting, failure to identify himself and carrying two fake licenses.

Manziel, a Parade All-American at Kerrville Tivy High, competed with sophomore Jameill Showers during spring drills for the starting job. Showers, who was Ryan Tannehill’s primary backup last season, appeared to lead the battle in spring practice, but head coach Kevin Sumlin and offensive coordinator Kliff Kingsbury declined to name him the starter.

Coach Sumlin was made aware of the situation and is still gathering all of the facts. “We’re gathering all the facts and will handle the situation once we have all of the information.”

Dates Set for 2013 NCAA 1st and 2nd Rounds in College Station

The NCAA released the dates for the first and second rounds of 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship hosted by Texas A&M University at Reed Arena.

The Aggies will host games on Saturday, March 23rd and Monday, March 25th. Texas A&M was selected as one of 16 sites for the first and second rounds of the 2013 NCAA Tournament. A&M is one of just four institutions to host for the second straight year and is one of three Southeastern Conference schools that will host.

Other sites hosting in 2013 include Baton Rouge, Louisiana (LSU), Boulder, Colorado (Colorado), College Park, Maryland (Maryland), Columbus, Ohio (Ohio State), Durham, North Carolina (Duke), Iowa City, Iowa (Iowa), Knoxville, Tennessee (Tennessee), Louisville, Kentucky (Louisville), Lubbock, Texas (Texas Tech), Newark, Delaware (Delaware), Queens, New York (St. John’s), Spokane, Washington (Gonzaga), Stanford, California (Stanford), Storrs, Connecticut (Connecticut), and Waco, Texas (Baylor).


Untitled document


Untitled document


Untitled document



Untitled document


Subscribe to the Forward Times

Untitled document



Untitled document

Latest comments